post

Do Over Challenge Reveal

Reduce, Reuse, Recycle…this simple phrase has been a part of my life for more  than 20 years.  In fact, in the late 80’s, I formed one of the first recycling organizations in Charlottesville, Virginia.  Bringing new life to old jewelry is a new twist on this old theme.  I found Jeannie through blog hopping.  What an amazing person she is.  I can’t begin to describe all the cool things she has done… from fitness trainer to hair dresser to business owner to jewelry maker. A month ago, Jeannie sent several jewelry designers old pieces of jewelry.  It was our job to re-design.

Original Necklace had one strand of wood beads, one strand of mother of pearl beads, two strands of gold seed beads and a leopard spotted focal shell

Now I thought this would be easy, but it wasn’t.  For three weeks, I fiddled with ideas and themes.  Maybe it could be a bracelet, maybe turn it into a halloween spider jewelry.  I was stymied by the multi-color focal shell and did not like the combination of wood and shell together.  Finally, a week ago, I received inspiration.  This is what I came up with.

Something old, something new is what I am calling this piece
Something old, Something new is what I named this piece.  I have a closeup of the focal which is much more subtle with the Vintaj Component on top of the Mother-of-Pearl.  I added color to the necklace with purple dyed Mother of Pearl Disks and picked up on the yellow with some beautiful faceted quartz crystals. I kept the wood separated from the shells and used the gold seed  beads to tie it all together.  I will show you a close-up the focal piece.

Something Old, Something New

I am still not thrilled with the result, but I ran out of time.  Fall is Jewelry Show season and if I want to continue making jewelry, than I need to sell more jewelry.  So off to the Bead Room. Check out what my fellow jewelry artists made by hopping over to their blogs.
Jeannie  and Donna
Natasha
Comments

  1. That looks great! Adding the purple beads really brings out the beauty of the focal piece. And the filigree clover adds a lot of interest to the focal piece. Well done!

  2. I think that your single strand design allows the focal to be the star. Layered focals are really big right now. The beads that you added bring a new dimension to the piece and bring out different tones in some of the original beads. Great piece!

  3. Purple worked well, and Jeannie is right, animal print is big — anything I make with it is snapped up at my shows before I can put it on the web site. Good job.

  4. I’d have never of thought of adding the purple O.o it DOES give the shell pieces a different look, making them have more of a pink cast to them. 🙂

  5. Well I like it and especially the added color and Vintaj filigree. Tones down the pendant that I still like. Animal print is big this season. Thank you Andrea for participating and making this challenge possible. Best you to with your jewelry shows.

Please Share your opinion

